Book Review

Book Review- Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst

Once I fulfilled my college English requirements, I never imagined that I would write a book report of my own accord. Reading is a daily occurrence in my home and every once in a while, I read a book or a series of books that compels me to share the experience with everyone.

51tHstz0LJL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Lysa TerKeurst’s latest book, Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely released yesterday and I was going to order the book at the special release price of $11 until I saw that the Kindle price was only $8.99. I am all for saving money and prefer to read on my Kindle anyway.

Reading this book was like sitting down for coffee with your best friend and having an intimate conversation. She writes so vividly that I can hear her speak the words on the page. I can envision her personal stories as if I was there. I laughed. I cried. (Not real tears. The suddenly hard to swallow. Hot prickle in the eye kind of tears.) It is so genuine. So authentic. So absolutely relatable. And in a way that says “I understand you because I have that too” without sounding like “I’ll see your Irritable Bowel Syndrome and raise you Kidney stones”  kind of poker match of life symptoms. My head nodded. My heart screamed “amen”. I highlighted half the book. My college-learned OCD was in full swing. Blue if I needed to read it again. Pink if I absolutely loved it. Yellow if it was a Bible verse I need to underline in my Bible and use for my daily scripture memorization challenge. Each rainbow page testifying to the way God used this book to speak His message of love, acceptance, and forgiveness into my life.

It only took me a few hours to read the book because I didn’t want to put it down. There were a couple instances where the grammar nazi in me wanted to hurl the Kindle across the room. But once I got into the rhythm of her writing style, it didn’t bother me so much. The resources at the end of the book were extremely beneficial and helped me take what I had just read and apply it to my life.

As the percentage read number climbed, I found myself not wanting it to be over. I never felt more validated. I was hungry for the healing words. I felt immersed in God’s love. I was able to process the moments in my life when I felt less than, left out, and lonely. It motivated me to tackle my insecurities and face my irrational anxiety.

If you are like me and only have a small budget allocated to get something for yourself: Get this book! If you’re not like me and the word budget isn’t even in your vocabulary: Get this book for every one of your girlfriends. Get one for the single mom that lives down the street. Get one to donate to the local prison. Get one for your church library.

Let me know in the comments if you had the opportunity to read this book and share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

